Pathway to Statehood

IMG_5398Today, you can help clear the path to statehood today by calling or emailing the following offices to request that these Senators cosponsor S. 1278, the Washington, DC Admission Act. We won’t be a state this Congress but by building our cosponsor list now we help clear the path for statehood in the years to come. Here’s a script and who to contact:

“I request that the Senator stand up with and for the 700,000+ American citizens living in the District of Columbia who deserve full congressional representation and autonomy over our local affairs. Please ask the Senator to support full voting rights for the people of DC by cosponsoring the D.C. statehood bill. Thank you!” 

 

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Bennet, Michael CO 202.224.5852 Allison Morrison allison_morrison@bennet.senate.gov
Blumenthal, Richard CT 202.224.2823 Mary Miller Flowers mary_flowers@blumenthal.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Lara Muldoon lara_muldoon@cantwell.senate.gov
Casey, Robert PA 202.224.6324 Benjamin Schwartz benjamin_schwartz@casey.senate.gov
Duckworth, Tammy IL 202.224.2854 Eric Goode eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov
Feinstein, Diane CA 202.224.3821 Phillip Brest phillip_brest@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Heinrich, Martin NM 202.224.5521 Dominic Saavedra dominic_saavedra@heinrich.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie HI 202.224.6361 Jeremy Horan jeremy_horan@hirono.senate.gov
Jones, Doug AL Cissy Jackson cissy_jackson@jones.senate.gov
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Klobuchar, Amy MN 202.224.3244 Anne Knapke anne_knapke@klobuchar.senate.gov
Menendez, Robert NJ Daniel Stapelkamp
daniel_stapelkamp@menendez.senate.gov
Murphy, Chris CT 202.224.4041 Michael Bednarczyk michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Zephranie Buetow zephranie_buetow@peters.senate.gov
Reed, Jack RI 202.224.4642 Tom Clees tom_clees@reed.senate.gov
Shaheen, Jean NH 202.224.2841 Andrew Nielsen (Andy) andrew_nielsen@shaheen.senate.gov
Smith, Tina MN 202.224.5641 Nick Wunder nick_wunder@smith.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Ani Toumajan ani_toumajan@stabenow.senate.gov
Udall, Tom NM 202.224.6621 Leticia Delgado leticia_delgado@tomudall.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Warner, Mark VA 202.224.2023 Ross Svenson ross_svenson@warner.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR 202.224.5244 Thomas Brunet thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov

Thank you!

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Winds of Change

AndyLe_Ward6

Andy – Ward 6

At our 2018 planning meeting we set a goal to get 30 cosponsors on the Senate statehood bill by year’s end. With the addition of Senators Patrick Leahy (D-VT) and Kamala Harris (D-CA) as cosponsors to the bill we have set a record for Senate cosponsors! Your work and your advocacy made this happen!!! And with the winds of change at our backs let’s keep pushing.

The 8 U.S. Senators listed below can get us to 30 if we keep the pressure on them. Here’s what to do: Email their staff right now and ask any family member or friend in their state to do so as well. Here’s what to say in your email and below is who you should address each email too:

  1. Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT): mary_flowers@blumenthal.senate.gov
  2. Senator Chris Murphy (D-CT): michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov
  3. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL): eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov
  4. Senator Robert Menendez (D-NJ): daniel_stapelkamp@menendez.senate.gov
  5. Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI): jeremy_horan@hirono.senate.gov
  6. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH): andrew_nielsen@shaheen.senate.gov 
  7. Senator Maria Cantwell (D-WA): lara_muldoon@cantwell.senate.gov
  8. Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR): thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov

Thank you,

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Love for DC!!!

dcflagheartLove is a good thing and whether it’s Valentine’s Day or another day it’s always good spread feelings of love & respect to others. Right now, let’s ask U.S. Senators to show their love for us and our pursuit of equality via statehood on this very special day. Please call or tweet at the following Senators and ask that they show their love for the people of DC today by agreeing to cosponsor the D.C. Statehood Bill in the Senate, S. 1278.

The script is easy: “Please show your love for democracy & the people of DC by supporting #DCStatehood and we’ll love you right back!”

Name State Twitter Phone
Blumenthal, Richard CT @SenBlumenthal 202.224.2823
Cantwell, Maria WA @SenatorCantwell 202.224.3441
Casey, Robert PA @SenBobCasey 202.224.6324
Duckworth, Tammy IL @SenDuckworth 202.224.2854
Feinstein, Diane CA @SenFeinStein 202.224.3821
Harris, Kamala CA @SenKamalaHarris 202.224.3553
Heinrich, Martin NM @MartinHeinrich 202.224.5521
Hirono, Mazie HI @MazieHirono 202.224.6361
King, Angus ME @SenAngusKing 202.224.5344
Klobuchar, Amy MN @AmyKlobuchar 202.224.3244
Menendez, Robert NJ @SenatorMenendez 202.224.4744
Murphy, Chris CT @ChrisMurphyCT 202.224.4041
Shaheen, Jean NH @SenatorShaheen 202.224.2841
Stabenow, Debbie MI @SenStabenow 202.224.4822
Udall, Tom NM @SenatorTomUdall 202.224.6621
Warner, Mark VA @MarkWarner 202.224.2023
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI @SenWhitehouse 202.224.2921
Wyden, Ron OR @RonWyden 202.224.5244

Thanks for doing this, I love you too!

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Restore Democracy for DC Too!

IMG_5554.jpgIn the U.S. Senate there is a vitally important piece of pro-democracy legislation, the Restore Democracy Act, S. 1588, which would secure Federal voting rights to formerly incarcerated persons. As of 2008, over 5 million formerly incarcerated Americans were denied federal voting rights. Some states are embarking on efforts to reform this and grant formerly incarcerated persons voting rights but this also can and should be done at the national level for Federal voting rights.

There are 21 cosponsors (including lead sponsor) of this bill twelve of whom are cosponsors of the D.C. Statehood bill, S. 1278. Nine of the cosponsors however are not on the statehood bill. This is not an ‘us vs. them’ scenario rather it’s a ‘what about us?’ situation. Senators should be commended for cosponsoring the Restore Democracy Act but they also should be called on to Restore Democracy for DC Too by cosponsoring the D.C. statehood bill as well. And so, call their offices or email their staff today and ask them “to support democracy in DC to by cosponsoring the Washington, DC Admission Act.” Here’s who to contact:

Restore Democracy for DC Too!
Senator State Phone Staff Email
Blumenthal, Richard
CA
202.224.3553
Sergio Gonzales
sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov
Casey, Robert
CT
202.224.2823
Sandeep Prasanna
sandeep_prasanna@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Duckworth, Tammy
PA
202.224.6324
Benjamin Schwartz
benjamin_schwartz@casey.senate.gov
Harris, Kamala
HI
202.224.6361
Jeremy Horan
jeremy_horan@hirono.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie
IL
202.224.2854
Eric Goode
eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov
Leahy, Patrick
RI
202.224.2921
Lara Quint
lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Smith, Tina
MN
202.224.5641
Unknown
Whitehouse, Sheldon
VT
202.224.4242
Unknown
Wyden, Ron
OR
202.224.5244
Thomas Brunet
thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov

Thank you for working to ensure democracy for the people of DC too!

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Operation California

Operation California:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On January 21, 2018, we had the honor and privilege to be in Los Angeles and spread the word about D.C. statehood at the Women’s March-LA. It was a powerful and inspiring event to meet with so many allies in California. Hundreds of Californians signed our petition calling on their members of Congress to support D.C. statehood and now we must keep the pressure on those members of Congress!

We need you to contact members of California’s congressional delegation who thus far have not signed on to the statehood bills in Congress. We must create a flood of calls and emails about this issue. Here is contact information for Californians in Congress NOT currently cosponsoring the statehood bill and here is a script to use for calls or emails. Please share this email and information with family and friends in California!

While we need people to contact all of the Representatives in the link above most importantly we need you to call or email Senators Kamala Harris & Diane Feinstein today. Here’s who to contact:

Senator

Phone

Staff

Email

Harris, Kamala

202.224.3553

Sergio Gonzales

sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov

Feinstein, Diane

202.224.3841

Roscoe Jones

roscoe_jones@feinstein.senate.gov

Thank you!!!

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment