Stand Up for Equality

Neighbors United for DC Statehood

US Senate Cosponsors of DC Statehood Bill 032619The D.C. Statehood bill in the U.S. Senate, S. 631, continues to set records for cosponsors, now at 32, but we need to make sure that list continues to grow. We expect former cosponsor,  Senator Feinstein, to cosponsor again soon and we need to redouble our efforts to get new cosponsors on the bill! 

The below 9 Senators have NEVER cosponsored the D.C. statehood bill! This Congress we set a goal to get to 40 cosponsors to show the growing support for this cause. We can & we will get to 40 cosponsors with your help & hard work!

If you have family or friends in the below states please ask them to email & call their Senators on our behalf and you should do so as well. It takes 10 minutes to either call or email below Senators. Here’s a script for calls and emails and for tweets…

View original post 133 more words

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Senator Diane Feinstein

Feinstein.jpgSenator Diane Feinstein cosponsored the D.C. statehood bill in the 115th Congress but has not done so 3 months into the 116th Congress. It’s the same bill as last Congress, so there is no reason not to cosponsor so it’s time to remind her office that this is the right thing to do!

In addition to her past support for statehood Senator Feinstein recently cosponsored S. 949, which is a sweeping pro-democracy bill that also endorses D.C. statehood. Senator Feinstein co-introduced a constitutional amendment to get rid of the electoral college because it violates the premise of one person one vote. Given her past and present stands for a more just and inclusive democracy Senator Feinstein should once again cosponsor the D.C. Statehood bill in the U.S. Senate, S. 631!

Please call, email, and/or tweet at the Senator TODAY asking that she once again cosponsor the D.C. statehood bill. If you have family or friends in California ask them to email & call Senator Feinstein on our behalf. It takes less than 2 minutes to either call, email, or tweet. Here’s a script to copy & paste: “Senator Feinstein should stand up for democracy and equality for the 700,000+ Americans living in D.C. by cosponsoring the #DCStatehood bill.”

Contact Information:

Office: 202.224.3841

Staff Lead: Phillip Brest, phillip_brest@judiciary-dem.senate.gov

Legislative Director: Joshua Esquivel, joshua_esquivel@feinstein.senate.gov

Twitter: @SenFeinstein

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Stand Up for Equality

US Senate Cosponsors of DC Statehood Bill 032619The D.C. Statehood bill in the U.S. Senate, S. 631, continues to set records for cosponsors, now at 32, but we need to make sure that list continues to grow. We expect former cosponsor,  Senator Feinstein, to cosponsor again soon and we need to redouble our efforts to get new cosponsors on the bill! 

The below 9 Senators have NEVER cosponsored the D.C. statehood bill! This Congress we set a goal to get to 40 cosponsors to show the growing support for this cause. We can & we will get to 40 cosponsors with your help & hard work!

If you have family or friends in the below states please ask them to email & call their Senators on our behalf and you should do so as well. It takes 10 minutes to either call or email below Senators. Here’s a script for calls and emails and for tweets you can write “.@SenatorX should stand up for democracy and equality for the 700,000+ Americans living in D.C. by cosponsoring the #DCStatehood bill.”

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email Twitter
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov @SenAngusKing
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Jackson Voss jackson_voss@hsgac.senate.gov @SenGaryPeters
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Maxine Terry maxine_terry@stabenow.senate.gov @Stabenow
Shaheen, Jean NH 202.224.2841 Robert Diznoff robert_diznoff@shaheen.senate.gov @SenatorShaheen
Reed, Jack RI 202.224.4642 Elyse Wasch elyse_wasch@reed.senate.gov @SenJackReed
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov @SenWhitehouse
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Michael Davisson michael_davisson@cantwell.senate.gov @SenatorCantwell
Sinema, Krysten AZ 202.224.4521 Joe Russell joe_russell@sinema.senate.gov @SenatorSinema
Rosen, Jacky NV 202.224.6244 Olga Zoraqi olga_zoraqi@rosen.senate.gov @SenJackyRosen

 

Together we can continue building congressional and national support for D.C. statehood and together we will create the 51st state!

 

We won’t give up until they give in!

 

Thank you,

 

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

It’s Here!!!

statehoodmap_030119

Senator Tom Carper of Delaware has introduced the Washington, DC Admission Act, S. 631, in the U.S. Senate with a record number of cosponsors (29) at introduction!!! The record number of cosponsors at introduction is a testament to the hard work of each and everyone of you consisting of meetings, emails, calls, and tweets! This was a team effort! We expect several additional Senators to add their names in the coming days and weeks based on recent meetings and communications with other Senate staff.

We will continue our work to push this issue forward and compel Senators & Representatives to continue to add their names to this important piece of social justice & voting rights legislation! The House bill, HR 51, should break the 200 cosponsor threshold in the coming days as well! There are lots of reason to rejoice but let’s also remember to get re-energized and re-double our efforts to make D.C. the 51st state!

Please take a moment today to call, tweet, or write to Senator Carper to say thank you for his leadership & dedication to this issue!

Senator Tom Carper (D-DE)

202.224.2441

www.carper.senate.gov

@SenatorCarper

Peace & Love,

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

10 Minutes for D.C. Stateho

NKBsignGot 10 minutes today for a good cause? Senator Tom Carper (D-DE) is set to introduce the D.C. Statehood bill in the coming weeks and while we have a lot of returning cosponsors on the bill, the below 10 Senators have NEVER cosponsored the D.C. statehood bill!

Please take 10 minutes to both contact the below Senators & to share this information with family & friends who live in their states. Here’s a script for calls and emails and for tweets you can write “.@SenatorX should stand up for democracy and equality for the 700,000+ Americans living in D.C. by cosponsoring the #DCStatehood bill.”  

Senator State Phone Staff Lead Email Twitter
Maria Cantwell WA 202.224.3441 Michael Davisson michael_davisson@cantwell.senate.gov @SenatorCantwell
Gary Peters MI 202.224.6221 Jackson Voss jackson_voss@hsgac.senate.gov @SenGaryPeters
Sheldon Whitehouse RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@whitehouse.senate.gov @SenWhitehouse
Jean Shaheen NH 202.224.2841 @SenatorShaheen
Jacky Rosen NV 202.224.6244 Grant Dubler grant_dubler@rosen.senate.gov @SenJackyRosen
Krysten Sinema AZ 202.224.4521 Michael Brownlie michael_brownlie@sinema.senate.gov @SenatorSinema
Angus King ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov @SenAngusKing

Together we can continue building congressional and national support for D.C. statehood and together we will create the 51st state!

We won’t give up until they give in!

Thank you,

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment