Email/Call Now!!!

The Senate will be in recess from April 10-21, 2017, which is the perfect time to email or call staff about the D.C. statehood bill. Over the last few weeks Senate staff have been consumed with a Supreme Court nominee but during this recess we need to remind Senate staff that we need their bosses to support D.C. statehood here’s how.

Email or call the below offices using this script encouraging them to cosponsor the statehood bill to be offered by Senator Carper. We need to contact these staff NOW while they have a bit of time on their hands. Here’s who we need to contact:

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Feinstein, Diane CA 202.224.3821 John Watts john_watts@feinstein.senate.gov 
Harris, Kamala CA 202.224.3553 Sergio Gonzales sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov 
Bennet, Michael CO 202.224.5852 Nicole Chan nicole_chan@bennet.senate.gov 
Blumenthal, Richard CT 202.224.2823 Sandeep Prasanna sandeep_prasanna@judiciary-dem.senate.gov 
Murphy, Chris CT 202.224.4041 Michael Bednarczyk michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie HI 202.224.6361 Shelby Boxenbaum shelby_boxenbaum@hirono.senate.gov
Duckworth, Tammy IL 202.224.2854 Eric Goode eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov 
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Mike Berman mike_berman@peters.senate.gov 
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Kristen Lee kristen_lee@stabenow.senate.gov
Klobuchar, Amy MN 202.224.3244 Ben Driscoll ben_driscoll@klobuchar.senate.gov
Hassan, Maggie NH 202.224.3324 Jude McCartin jude_mccartin@hassan.senate.gov
Shaheen, Jean NH 202.224.2841 Kelly Misselwitz kelly_misselwitz@shaheen.senate.gov
Heinrich, Martin NM 202.224.5521 Dominic Saavedra dominic_saavedra@heinrich.senate.gov
Udall, Tom NM 202.224.6621 Leticia Delgado leticia_delgado@tomudall.senate.gov 
Cortez Masto, Catherine NV 202.224.3542 Scott Fairchild scott_fairchild@cortezmasto.senate.gov
Merkley, Jeff OR 202.224.3753 Jeremiah Baumann jeremiah_baumann@merkley.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR 202.224.5244 Thomas Brunet thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov 
Casey, Robert PA 202.224.6324 Benjamin Schwartz benjamin_schwartz@casey.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Lara Quint lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Warner, Mark VA 202.224.2023 Lauren Marshall lauren_marshall@warner.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Pete Modaff pete_modaff@cantwell.senate.gov

If we all email & call we will have a record number of cosponsors on the D.C. statehood bill when Senator Carper offers it in the coming weeks.

Thank you,

Josh

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Blizzard of Calls & Emails for Statehood

Sure, the blizzard that was supposed to hit D.C. didn’t really pan out but that doesn’t mean we can’t create a blizzard of our own. As some folks are home today or at least for a couple of hours this morning so let’s send a blizzard of emails or make a blizzard of calls to Senate offices on behalf of D.C. statehood. Senator Carper has yet to introduce the statehood bill in the Senate so we should make sure we do our utmost to ensure we maximize the cosponsors on the bill when it’s introduced. Here’s a script and here is list of Senators who have not announced support for D.C. Statehood during their time in office. We need to call/email them:

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Bennet, Michael CO 202.224.5852 Nicole Chan nicole_chan@bennet.senate.gov
Blumenthal, Richard CT 202.224.2823 Sandeep Prassana sandeep_prasana@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Pete Modaff pete_modaff@cantwell.senate.gov
Casey, Robert PA 202.224.6324 Benjamin Schwartz benjamin_schwartz@casey.senate.gov
Cortez Masto, Catherine NV 202.224.3542 Scott Fairchild scott_fairchild@cortezmasto.senate.gov
Duckworth, Tammy IL 202.224.2854 Eric Goode eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov
Harris, Kamala CA 202.224.3553 Clint Odom clint_odom@harris.senate.gov
Hassan, Maggie NH 202.224.3324 Jude McCartin jude_mccartin@hassan.senate.gov
Heinrich, Martin NM 202.224.5521 Dominic Saavedra dominic_saavedra@heinrich.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie HI 202.224.6361 Shelby Boxenbaum shelby_boxenbaum@hirono.senate.gov
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Klobuchar, Amy MN 202.224.3244 Ben Driscoll ben_driscoll@klobuchar.senate.gov
Merkley, Jeff OR 202.224.3753 Jeremiah Baumann jeremiah_baumann@merkley.senate.gov
Murphy, Chris CT 202.224.4041 Michael Bednarczyk michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Mike Berman mike_berman@peters.senate.gov
Shaheen, Jean NH 202.224.2841 Kelly Misselwitz kelly_misselwitz@shaheen.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Kristen Lee kristen_lee@stabenow.senate.gov
Udall, Tom NM 202.224.6621 Matt Nelson matt_nelson@tomudall.senate.gov
Van Hollen, Chris MD 202.224.4654 Sarah Schenning sarah_schenning@vanhollen.senate.go
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Lara Quint lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Warner, Mark VA 202.224.2023 Lauren Marshall lauren_marshall@warner.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR 202.224.5244 Sarah Bittleman sarah_bittleman@wyden.senate.gov

If we raise our voices together we can get the above Senators to cosponsor the statehood bill and continue to build our base of supporters for D.C. statehood in the U.S. Senate.

Email & call now and encourage your friends and family in the following states to do the same!

Josh

Brookland, DC

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sink the SOAR Act

The House Oversight and Government Reform Committee just passed the SOAR Act (D.C. School Voucher Bill). If we in D.C. want a voucher program we should have our Council create it, find funding for it, and pass yet we have not. This bill is an intrusion into local affairs. It won’t be easy to defeat this bill on the House floor now but it is possible if we all act together and act now. We need to target three groups of members in the House: 1) Republicans who have previously voted against the SOAR Act; 2) Democrats who have voted for it and yet support statehood as well; and 3) Republicans who have to be quite nervous about their reelection prospects. If we can get these three groups on our side we can defeat the SOAR Act on the House floor. Here’s who to call:Please call each office and ask that the “Representative vote ‘NO’ on the SOAR Act and let the people of D.C. decide what is best for our children and our schools.”

House Offices to Call to Defeat the SOAR Act (School Vouchers for DC)
Justification Representative State-District Phone
These GOP members voted against the SOAR Act in 2015 so call them and ask that they continue to oppose the SOAR Act and let the people of DC decide what is best for our children. Mike Bost IL-12 202.225.5661
Ryan Costello PA-6 202.225.4315
Sam Graves MO-6 202.225.7041
Morgan Griffith VA-9 202.225.3861
Frank LoBiondo NJ-2 202.225.6572
Dave Reichert WA-8 202.225.7761
Mike Simpson ID-2 202.225.5531
These two Dems voted for the SOAR Act in 2015 but also are D.C. Statehood supporters. Call them and ask that they vote NO on the SOAR Act and let the people of DC decided what types of school options we want for our children. John Delaney MD 202.225.2721
Dan Lipinski IL 202.225.5701
These are GOP Representatives who won re-election in districts that Hillary Clinton won. They should be very nervous about re-election and we should tell them to vote NO on the SOAR Act if it reaches the House floor. Call and tell them to vote NO on the SOAR Act and let the people of DC decide what’s best for our children and our schools. Darrell Issa CA-49 202.225.3906
Will Hurd TX-23 202.225.4511
Ilena Ros-Lehtinen FL-27 202.225.3931
Carlos Curbelo FL-26 202.225.2778
David Valadao CA-21 202.225.4695
Barbara Comstock VA-10 202.225.5136
Erik Paulsen MN-3 202.225.2871
Mike Coffman CO-6 202.225.7882
Ed Royce CA-39 202.225.4111
Peter Roskam IL-6 202.225.4561
Steve Knight CA-25 202.225.1956
Mimi Walters CA-45 202.225.5611
Martha McSally AZ-2 202.225.2542
John Katko NY-24 202.225.3701
Jeff Denham CA-10 202.225.4540
Pat Meehan PA-7 202.225.2011
Pete Sessions TX-32 202.225.2231
Dana Rohrabacher CA-48 202.225.2415
John Culberson TX-7 202.225.2571
Kevin Yoder KS-3 202.225.2865

We can defeat this and if people in D.C. really want vouchers you can contact your Councilmembers and the Mayor and press them on it.

Josh Burch

Brookland, DC

 

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

March Forward for Statehood

March will be an action packed month for D.C. statehood with something to do for everyone and here are a few key ways we all can take part:

Statehood Bill Introduction & Press Conference (Wednesday, March 1 at 2pm): Congresswoman Norton (D-DC) and Senator Carper (D-DE) will hold a press conference that’s open to the public to announce the introductions of the new statehood bill in both Houses of Congress. More info here

Help Grow the Senate Statehood Cosponsor List: Call/email Senate offices and get your friends in the 50 states to do the same encouraging key Senators to cosponsor the D.C. statehood bill. Here’s the contact information for priority Senators and here’s a script for you, friends, and family to use when contacting them.

Local Organizing Meeting (March 6, from 6:30-8:30pm at Brookland Pint): Join us for our “Local Organizing” strategy meeting where we’ll put together goals, timelines, and assign responsibilities for put our local organizing plan into action & growing the statehood movement here in the District. Here’s the broad outline of local organizing initiatives we will take on in 2017. Please invite others and RSVP by replying to this email or to our Facebook Event Page.

National Organizing Meeting (March 20, from 6:30-8:30pm at Petworth Neighborhood Library): Join us for our “National Organizing” strategy meeting where we’ll put together goals, timelines, and assign responsibilities for put our national organizing plan into action & growing building supporters and alliances in the 50 states. Here’s the broad outline of national organizing initiatives we will take on in 2017. Please invite others and RSVP by replying to this email or to our Facebook Event Page.

Congress Advocacy Meeting (March 27, from 6:30-8:30pm at Northeast Neighborhood Library): Join us for our “Congressional Advocacy” meeting where we’ll spend the first half of the meeting doing a training on how to lobby Congress about #HandsOffDC and for #DCStatehood. The second half of the meeting will focus on setting goals, timelines, and assigning responsibilities to make it all a reality so we keep the pressure on Congress for the next two years and beyond. Here’s the broad outline of congressional advocacy initiatives we will take on in 2017. Please invite others to the meeting and RSVP by replying to this email or to our Facebook Event Page.

The statehood movement relies on our minds, energy, passion, and work and I hope
that we can all March Forward for D.C. Statehood with an action packed month, together.

Thank you,
Josh Burch

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

D.C. Statehood To Do List

Neighbors United for DC Statehood is a grassroots civic group committed to organizing, educating, and acting for D.C. statehood. We rely solely on the collective power of committed volunteers from the District and around the country and we welcome you to join and act with us to achieve equality for the people of D.C. via statehood. Here’s how:

Educate:

  • Invite us to your place of work, school, place of worship, or union hall and we’ll lead a discussion on DC history and the struggle for statehood.
  • Inform your friends & family in the 50 states about our status and let them know where their members of Congress stand on equality for the people of DC.

Organize:

  • Host us for a planning session with family, friends, coworkers, classmates, or others. Just bring small groups of people together and we’ll help facilitate a discussion on statehood and help you draw up your own action plans to help the cause.
  • Get your civic group, union, place of worship to adopt statehood as a core focus issue and use it to reach others similar groups in the 50 states.

Act:

  • Write to members of Congress in opposition to Congressional meddling in D.C. affairs and in support of D.C. statehood. Here’s our target Senate list for the 115th Congress: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1MjobtVOmynPRJm7ooaoN414SrcXaJLOcJAPXybtV81I/edit?usp=sharing
  • Share stories on Twitter and Facebook about the District’s unique status and use the hashtag #DCStatehood.
  • Participate in a lobby day. Our next one is on Feb. 15th please sign-up here.
  • Draft Op-Eds for papers around the country.
  • Encourage District leaders to dedicate more funding to the statehood effort.
  • Lobby District leaders to fund the development of a logistical and financial plan to become a state which includes taken control over our court and prison system.
  • Financially support candidates who support statehood & oppose those who do not.
  • Participate in acts of civil disobedience to raise awareness & to stand up to Congressional interlopers.
  • Share with us other ways to support the cause.

Please join the movement for D.C. statehood by emailing us at unitedforstatehood@gmail.com or sign-up for our email list here.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment