Equality for the People in D.C.

SenateStates_110719Statehood for the 700,000 people in D.C. means we would finally have equal congressional representation and autonomy over our own local affairs. We would be treated equally with our families, friends, and neighbors in the 50 states, nothing more and nothing less. The House version of the statehood bill, HR 51, has a historic high of 223 cosponsors (and growing) and we expect the bill to pass out of Committee & get a successful floor vote. The statehood bill in the U.S. Senate, S. 631, has a tougher plight. There are now an impressive 35 cosponsors on the bill but we need to make sure to continue to grow that list.

The below 9 Senators are NOT presently cosponsoring the D.C. statehood bill! They need to hear both from their constituents & the people of D.C.

If you have family or friends in the below states please ask them to email & call their Senators on our behalf and you should do so as well. It takes 10 minutes to either call or email below Senators. Here’s a script for calls and emails, and for tweets you can write “.@SenatorX should stand up for democracy and equality for the 700,000+ Americans living in D.C. by cosponsoring the #DCStatehood bill.”

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Sinema, Krysten AZ 202.224.4521 Joe Russell joe_russell@sinema.senate.gov
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Jackson Voss jackson_voss@hsgac.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Maxine Terry maxine_terry@stabenow.senate.gov
Rosen, Jackie NV 202.224.6244 Olga Zoraqi olga_zoraqi@rosen.senate.gov
Reed, Jack RI 202.224.4642 Renuka Nagaraj renuka_nagaraj@reed.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Lara Muldoon lara_muldoon@cantwell.senate.gov
Tester, Jon MT 202.224.2644 Stuart Varvel stuart_varvel@tester.senate.gov
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s