A More Inclusive Democracy

SenateStates_091719.png

There will be a hearing on September 19, on D.C. Statehood bill (HR 51) before the House Oversight Committee. HR 51 has a historic high of 219 cosponsors (and growing) and we expect the bill to pass out of Committee & get a successful floor vote. The statehood bill in the U.S. Senate, S. 631, has a tougher plight. There are now an impressive 33 cosponsors on the bill but we need to make sure to continue to grow that list. 

The below 9 Senators are NOT presently cosponsoring the D.C. statehood bill! They need to hear both from their constituents & the people of D.C. 

If you have family or friends in the below states please ask them to email & call their Senators on our behalf and you should do so as well. It takes 10 minutes to either call or email below Senators. Here’s a script for calls and emails, and for tweets you can write “.@SenatorX should stand up for democracy and equality for the 700,000+ Americans living in D.C. by cosponsoring the #DCStatehood bill.”

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Sinema, Krysten AZ 202.224.4521 Joe Russell joe_russell@sinema.senate.gov
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Jackson Voss jackson_voss@hsgac.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Maxine Terry maxine_terry@stabenow.senate.gov
Rosen, Jackie NV 202.224.6244 Olga Zoraqi olga_zoraqi@rosen.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR 202.224.5244 Isaiah Akin isaiah_akin@wyden.senate.gov
Reed, Jack RI 202.224.4642 Renuka Nagaraj renuka_nagaraj@reed.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Rosemary Gutierrez rosemary_gutierrez@cantwell.senate.gov

 

D.C. statehood is one issue that will help make our union more just, equitable, and democratic. 

Thank you,

 

Josh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s