Democrats should be democrats!!!

The word democrat is a noun which means a supporter of democracy. It is also a noun for someone who is a member of the Democratic Party. These should not be mutually exclusive as it relates to D.C. statehood. If you are a big ‘D’ Democrat then you should also be a fiercely small ‘d’ democrat and support D.C. statehood (700,000+ Americans denied a vote in Congress). While we have a record number of cosponsors on both the House & Senate statehood bills there are still too many Democratic U.S. Senators mute on the issue. Below is a map of states where either one or both Democratic Senators have no position on D.C. statehood.

Statehood Bill Targeted States

As we head into a vote on one of the most controversial Supreme Court nominees and the most consequential congressional election of our lifetime it is critical to call out Democrats who are mute on democracy for the people of DC (if you wonder why we are not focusing on Republicans just go to page 30 of their 2016 Platform to see their feelings on DC and statehood, very colonialist).

Please email/call these Senate offices now & ask family & friends in these targeted states to do so as well. We need these Senators to take a stand for democracy in D.C. by cosponsoring the D.C. Statehood bill, S. 1278. Here’s an easy script to use for calls or emails!

Name State Phone Staff Lead Email
Jones, Doug AL 202.224.4124 Cissy Jackson cissy_jackson@jones.senate.gov
Bennet, Michael CO 202.224.5852 Allison Morrison allison_morrison@bennet.senate.gov
Murphy, Chris CT 202.224.4041 Michael Bednarczyk michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov
Nelson, Bill FL 202.224.5274 Sandeep Prasanna sandeep_prasanna@billnelson.senate.gov
King, Angus ME 202.224.5344 Sanjay Kane sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI 202.224.6221 Katie Conley Katie_conley@peters.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI 202.224.4822 Ani Toumajan ani_toumajan@stabenow.senate.gov
Klobuchar, Amy MN 202.224.3244 Elizabeth Farrar elizabeth_farrar@klobuchar.senate.gov
Smith, Tina MN 202.224.5641 Gohar Sedighi gohar_sedighi@smith.senate.gov
Shaheen, Jean NH 202.224.2841 Andrew Nielsen (Andy) andrew_nielsen@shaheen.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR 202.224.5244 Thomas Brunet thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov
Casey, Robert PA 202.224.6324 Virginia Lenahan virginia_lenahan@casey.senate.gov
Reed, Jack RI 202.224.4642 Tom Clees tom_clees@reed.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI 202.224.2921 Alex Aronson alex_aronson@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Warner, Mark VA 202.224.2023 Courtney Lam courtney_lam@warner.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA 202.224.3441 Michael Davisson michael_davisson@cantwell.senate.gov

Thanks for contacting these Senators!

Josh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s