Restore Democracy for DC Too!

IMG_5554.jpgIn the U.S. Senate there is a vitally important piece of pro-democracy legislation, the Restore Democracy Act, S. 1588, which would secure Federal voting rights to formerly incarcerated persons. As of 2008, over 5 million formerly incarcerated Americans were denied federal voting rights. Some states are embarking on efforts to reform this and grant formerly incarcerated persons voting rights but this also can and should be done at the national level for Federal voting rights.

There are 21 cosponsors (including lead sponsor) of this bill twelve of whom are cosponsors of the D.C. Statehood bill, S. 1278. Nine of the cosponsors however are not on the statehood bill. This is not an ‘us vs. them’ scenario rather it’s a ‘what about us?’ situation. Senators should be commended for cosponsoring the Restore Democracy Act but they also should be called on to Restore Democracy for DC Too by cosponsoring the D.C. statehood bill as well. And so, call their offices or email their staff today and ask them “to support democracy in DC to by cosponsoring the Washington, DC Admission Act.” Here’s who to contact:

Restore Democracy for DC Too!
Senator State Phone Staff Email
Blumenthal, Richard
CA
202.224.3553
Sergio Gonzales
sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov
Casey, Robert
CT
202.224.2823
Sandeep Prasanna
sandeep_prasanna@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Duckworth, Tammy
PA
202.224.6324
Benjamin Schwartz
benjamin_schwartz@casey.senate.gov
Harris, Kamala
HI
202.224.6361
Jeremy Horan
jeremy_horan@hirono.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie
IL
202.224.2854
Eric Goode
eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov
Leahy, Patrick
RI
202.224.2921
Lara Quint
lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Smith, Tina
MN
202.224.5641
Unknown
Whitehouse, Sheldon
VT
202.224.4242
Unknown
Wyden, Ron
OR
202.224.5244
Thomas Brunet
thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov

Thank you for working to ensure democracy for the people of DC too!

Josh

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s