No (INCREASED) Taxation Without Representation

13x19Poster_April15_STATEHOODDC residents dutifully pay federal taxes despite the fact that we lack representation in Congress. This is an affront to one of the basic tenets upon which our nation was founded (No Taxation Without Representation), yet we still pay taxes to help fund our government. Congress is presently debating H.R. 1 which would result in the average family of four who owns a home and earns between $50,000 – $200,000 in the District would see an average tax increase of 28 percent or $1,442 – the highest possible increase in the nation if the H.R.1 bill is approved accordingly to Americans Against Double Taxation.  Isn’t our lack of congressional representation just grand?

This is a prime opportunity to remind U.S. Senators that we deserve equality in the union via statehood and we need their support to make it happen. Please email/call the below offices and say “District residents pay federal taxes and we deserve an equal vote in Congress to determine how are tax dollars are spent. As you consider tax legislation before Congress I urge you to support the right of the 681,000 District residents who pay over $25 billion a year in taxes (more than 20 states) to have our voices heard and the votes of Senators of our own counted on this issue and others. I urge the Senator to cosponsor 1278, the Washington, DC Admission Act, so that my voice and vote can have power and meaning in our democracy.”

Contact List for Targeted Senators:

Blumenthal, Richard

CT

Dem

202.224.2823

Sandeep Prasanna

sandeep_Prasanna@judiciary-dem.senate.gov

Duckworth, Tammy

IL

Dem

202.224.2854

Eric Goode

eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov

Harris, Kamala

CA

Dem

202.224.3553

Sergio Gonzales

sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov

Heinrich, Martin

NM

Dem

202.224.5521

Dominic Saavedra

dominic_saavedra@heinrich.senate.gov

Hirono, Mazie

HI

Dem

202.224.6361

Jeremy Horan

jeremy_horan@hirono.senate.gov 

King, Angus

ME

Ind

202.224.5344

Sanjay Kane

sanjay_kane@king.senate.gov

Murphy, Chris

CT

Dem

202.224.4041

Michael Bednarczyk

michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov

Shaheen, Jean

NH

Dem

202.224.2841

Kelly Misselwitz

kelly_misselwitz@shaheen.senate.gov

Udall, Tom

NM

Dem

202.224.6621

Leticia Delgado

leticia_delgado@tomudall.senate.gov

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s