Working Recess

We’re kicking off our Working Recess campaign where we’re focusing on one state each day of the Senate’s recess in an effort to build cosponsors on the soon to be introduced D.C. statehood bill in the Senate. The House bill, H.R. 1291, has 120 cosponsors and growing but we need around 25 Senators on the Senate bill before it’s introduced so by focusing our energy on one or two Senators and one state a day for the Senate’s recess we can make it happen.

 

Here’s how we’ll do it. Each day we’ll focus on a state and we’ll email/call each Senator’s office to encourage them to cosponsor the D.C. statehood bill. Because we will focus on one state a day you should also reach out to family and friends in those states and ask that they contact their Senators on our behalf seeking their support for D.C. statehood.

Here’s a script for emails and calls!

 

Tuesday, April 11 – California
Senator: Feinstein, Diane (CA)
Phone: 202.224.3821
Staff Lead: John Watts (john_watts@feinstein.senate.gov)

Senator: Harris, Kamala (CA)
Phone: 202.224.3553
Staff Lead: Sergio Gonzales (sergio_gonzales@harris.senate.gov)

 

Known California congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: In the House Reps. Bass, Brunley, Chu, DeSauliner, Eshoo, Huffman, Lee, Lieu, Lofgren, Lowenthal, McNerney, Napolitano, Peters, Sanchez, Speier, Takano, Vargas, and Waters are all cosponsors the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

Wednesday, April 12 – Connecticut

Senator: Blumenthal, Richard (CT)

Phone: 202.224.2823

Staff Lead: Sandeep Prasanna (sandeep_prasanna@judiciary-dem.senate.gov)

 

Senator: Murphy, Chris (CT)

Phone: 202.224.4041

Staff Lead: Michael Bednarczyk (michael_bednarczyk@murphy.senate.gov)

 

Known Connecticut congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Senator Murphy recently publicly stated his support for statehood yet has yet to add his name as a cosponsor to the bill. In the House Reps. DeLauro, Courtney, and Larson are cosponsors of the House bill, HR 1291.

 

Thursday, April 13 – Hawaii

 

Senator: Hirono, Mazie (HI)

Phone: 202.224.6361

Staff Lead: Shelby Boxenbaum (shelby_boxenbaum@hirono.senate.gov)

 

Known Hawaii congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Senator Schatz is a supporter of statehood in the Senate and Rep. Hanabusa is cosponsor of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Friday, April 14 – Illinois

 

Senator: Duckworth, Tammy (IL)

Phone: 202.224.2854

Staff Lead: Eric Goode (eric_goode@duckworth.senate.gov)

 

Known Illinois congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Senator Durbin has been a long time supporter of statehood and Reps. Davis, Guiterrez, Kelly, Lipinski, Rush, Schakowsky, and Quigley are all cosponsors of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Monday, April 17 – Minnesota

 

Senator: Klobuchar, Amy (MN)

Phone: 202.224.3244

Staff Lead: Ben Driscoll (ben_driscoll@klobuchar.senate.gov)

 

Known Minnesota congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Senator Franken is a supporter of D.C. statehood and Reps. Ellison, McCollum, Walz, and Nolan are all cosponsors of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Tuesday, April 18 – New Hampshire

 

Senator: Hassan, Maggie (NH)
Phone: 202.224.3324
Staff Lead: Jude McCartin (jude_mccartin@hassan.senate.gov)
Senator: Shaheen, Jean (NH)
Phone: 202.224.2841
Staff Lead: Kelly Misselwitz (kelly_misselwitz@shaheen.senate.gov)
Known New Hampshire congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: None presently.

 

Wednesday, April 19 – New Mexico

 

Senator: Heinrich, Martin (NM)
Phone: 202.224.5521
Staff Lead: Dominic Saavedra (dominic_saavedra@heinrich.senate.gov)

Senator: Udall, Tom (NM)
Phone: 202.224.6621
Staff Lead: Leticia Delgado (leticia_delgado@tomudall.senate.gov)

Known New Mexico congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Rep. Michelle Lujan Grisham is a cosponsor of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Thursday, April 20 – Oregon

 

Senator: Merkley, Jeff (OR)
Phone: 202.224.3753
Staff Lead: Jeremiah Baumann (jeremiah_baumann@merkley.senate.gov)
Senator: Wyden, Ron (OR)
Phone: 202.224.5244
Staff Lead: Thomas Brunet (thomas_brunet@wyden.senate.gov)

Known Oregon congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: In 1993, then Rep. Wyden voted for D.C. statehood on the House floor but has been mute on the issue since then. Presently, Reps. DeFazio, Blumenauer, and Bonamici are all cosponsors of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Friday, April 21 – Virginia

 

Senator: Warner, Mark (VA)
Phone: 202.224.2023
Staff Lead: Lauren Marshall (lauren_marshall@warner.senate.gov)

Known Virginia congressional supporters of D.C. statehood: Senator Kaine is a statehood supporter and VA Reps. Scott, Connolly, Beyer, and McEachin all cosponsors of the House statehood bill, HR 1291.

 

Let’s do it!
Josh

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s