#Blizzard2016 for D.C. Statehood

We know that you’re snowed in and stuck at home. It’s unsafe to go out in a blizzard so from the comfort of your own home let’s all spend a bit of time advocating for D.C. statehood during #Snowzilla, #SnowtoriousBIG, or whatever else we’re calling this blizzard of 2016. The below suggestions should take no more than 30 minutes so please add your voice to the cause today.

We are targeting a few Senators whom we want to add their name to the statehood bill in the Senate (S. 1688) so we need you to contact them via Twitter or Email.

Here’s How:

  1. Twitter: Send a simple tweet to a Senator’s account like this: .@SenJeffMerkley please stand up for fairness & equality and cosponsor the #DCStatehood bill. Or go to @51stDC and retweet messages directed at targeted Senators during the day.
  2. Email: Send a personal message to staff leads for the statehood bill in the below offices. You should feel free to pour your heart, mind, and soul into an email or you can make it short and sweet like this:

“Dear Staffer X,

Please ask Senator Y to take a stand for the fair and equal treatment of the citizens of the District of Columbia by cosponsoring the New Columbia Admission Act (S. 1688).”

Name State Staff Lead Email Twitter
Ayotte, Kelly NH Myles Matteson myles_matteson@ayotte.senate.gov  @KellyAyotte
Blumenthal, Richard CT Don Bell don_bell@blumenthal.senate.gov  @SenBlumenthal
Cantwell, Maria WA Pete Modaff pete_modaff@cantwell.senate.gov  @CantwellPress
Enzi, Mike WY Clint Lohse clint_lohse@enzi.senate.gov  @SenatorEnzi
Heinrich, Martin NM Jude McCartin jude_mccartin@heinrich.senate.gov  @MartinHeinrich
Hirono, Mazie HI Adam Tanga adam_tanga@hirono.senate.gov  @MazieHirono
King, Angus ME Chad Metzler chad_metzler@king.senate.gov  @SenAngusKing
Kirk, Mark IL Greg Tosi greg_tosi@kirk.senate.gov  @SenatorKirk
Klobuchar, Amy MN Ben Driscoll ben_driscoll@klobuchar.senate.gov  @AmyKlobuchar
Menendez, Robert NJ Tim Delmonico Tim_delmonico@menendez.senate.gov @SenatorMenendez
Merkley, Jeff OR Adrian Snead Adrian_snead@merkley.senate.gov  @SenJeffMerkley
Murkowski, Lisa AK Nathan Bergerbest nathan_bergerbest@murkowski.senate.gov  @LisaMurkowski
Murphy, Chris CT David Bonine david_bonine@murphy.senate.gov  @ChrisMurphyCT
Peters, Gary MI Jordan Wells jordan_wells@peters.senate.gov  @SenGaryPeters
Portman, Rob OH Pam Theissen pam_theissen@portman.senate.gov  @SenRobPortman
Schatz, Brian HI Dale Hahn dale_hahn@schatz.senate.gov  @SenBrianSchatz
Scott, Tim SC Charles Cogar charles_cogar@scott.senate.gov  @SenatorTimScott
Shaheen, Jeanne NH Brian McKeon Brain_mckeon@shaheen.senate.gov @SenatorShaheen
Stabenow, Debbie MI Emily Carwell Emily_carwell@stabenow.senate.gov  @SenStabenow
Tester, Jon MT Dylan Laslovich dylan_laslovich@tester.senate.gov  @SenatorTester
Udall, Tom NM Andrew Wallace andrew_wallace@tomudall.senate.gov  @SenatorTomUdall
Warner, Mark VA Lauren Marshall lauren_marshall@warner.senate.gov  @MarkWarner
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI Lara Quint lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov  @SenWhitehouse
Wyden, Ron OR Sarah Bittleman Sarah_bittleman@wyden.senate.gov  @RonWyden


Every tweet and email makes a difference so please lend your voice to the cause today.

Thanks for helping and let’s put our time indoors to good use during #Snowzilla, #SnowtoriousBIG, or whatever else you’re calling this blizzard!

Josh Burch

Brookland, DC


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s