Continuing Revolution

Keeping the government open is a good thing and good government doing so while also denying citizens of the nation’s capital the right to vote in Congress and the right to control our own local laws and budget is anti-democratic. The continuing resolution (CR) will keep the federal government open into December but it also continues to impose policy riders on the District covering an array of issues including our right to spend money on reproductive health services for low income women and the right to spend funds related to Initiative 71.

While we are continuously shut out of Congress and denied final say on our own affairs that does not mean we should stay silent. Statehood is the only legislative path forward that will permanently grant us full and equal congressional representation and free us from congressional meddling in our local laws and budget.

We need to let staff/offices know now that this budget has anti-democratic components to it focused squarely and solely on the 658,000 citizens of the District of Columbia who contribute more in federal revenues than 21 states and we are none to happy about it.

Please send an email to the staff/offices listed below and let them know it’s time they support democracy for ALL Americans and add their name as cosponsors to the D.C. statehood bill, S. 1688:

Name State Staff Lead Email
Blumenthal, Richard CT Don Bell don_bell@blumenthal.senate.gov
Cantwell, Maria WA Pete Modaff pete_modaff@cantwell.senate.gov
Heinrich, Martin NM Jude McCartin jude_mccartin@heinrich.senate.gov
Hirono, Mazie HI Coti Haia coti_haia@hirono.senate.gov
Kaine, Tim VA Mary Naylor mary_naylor@kaine.senate.gov
King, Angus ME Chad Metzler chad_metzler@king.senate.gov
Kirk, Mark IL Greg Tosi greg_tosi@kirk.senate.gov
Klobuchar, Amy MN Travis Talvitie travis_talvitie@klobuchar.senate.gov
Merkley, Jeff OR Jeremiah Baumann jeremiah_baumann@merkley.senate.gov
Murphy, Chris CT David Bonine david_bonine@murphy.senate.gov
Peters, Gary MI David Weinberg david_weinberg@peters.senate.gov
Portman, Rob OH Pam Thiessen pam_thiessen@portman.senate.gov
Schatz, Brian HI Dale Hahn dale_hahn@schatz.senate.gov
Stabenow, Debbie MI Emily Carwell emily_carwell@stabenow.senate.gov
Udall, Tom NM Andrew Wallace andrew_wallace@tomudall.senate.gov
Warner, Mark VA Elizabeth Falcone elizabeth_falcone@warner.senate.gov
Whitehouse, Sheldon RI Lara Quint lara_quint@judiciary-dem.senate.gov
Wyden, Ron OR Sarah Bittleman sarah_bittleman@wyden.senate.gov

Thanks,

Josh

Brookland, DC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s