Could it be 16 Senate Statehood Friends?

With former Senator Bob Kerrey pulling closer in the Nebraska Senate race his win, although still not likely, would make it 16 US Senators on record as having previously voted for or co-sponsored a DC Statehood Bill (New Columbia Admission Act).

Here are the other 15 Senators already expected to be in the next Congress who have supported DC Statehood in the past:

  • Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
  • Ben Cardin (D-MD)
  • Bob Menendez (D-NJ)
  • Chuck Schumer (D-NY)
  • Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
  • Bernie Sanders (I-VT)
  • Patty Murray (D-WA)
  • Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
  • Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
  • Jay Rockefeller (D-WV)
  • Richard Durbin (D-IL)
  • Tom Harkin (D-IA)
  • Sherrod Brown (D-OH)
  • Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
  • Ron Wyden (D-OR)
  • and potentially Bob Kerrey (D-NE)

This would give the statehood movement a great starting point to recruit new Senators to the cause. We should not get ahead of ourselves because one of the most important components to the success of our cause will be making this a bipartisan/nonpartisan civil rights issue which is much easier said than done.

Civic organizing matters so do elections! Vote smart, Nebraska!

Up with Hope,

Josh Burch

Twitter: @JBurchDC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s